Skip to content
Certifications

Every Databricks badge, and how to earn it

Databricks issues three kinds of credential. The Fundamentals accreditations and most knowledge badges are free: watch a short course, pass a quiz. The platform accreditations are free for Databricks customers and partners, and certifications are proctored exams at $200 per attempt.

Below is every credential in Databricks' public catalog, each linked to Databricks' own page. Partner-only Partner Training badges are counted, not listed, and internal staff collections are left out.

9 free accreditations · 4 platform accreditations · 64 knowledge badges · 8 certifications · 21 retired

Checked by hand against Databricks' credential catalog on October 4, 2026, where the Databricks Academy issuer lists 248 credentials. We are an independent community site, not affiliated with Databricks; verify details on databricks.com before you rely on them.

Free Fundamentals accreditations

9short courses in Databricks Academy, each ending in a quiz. Pass it and the badge arrives by email from Accredible, which Databricks says can take up to 48 hours, and sits in your wallet at credentials.databricks.com. Databricks describes the collection as accreditations earned through “a short, non-proctored assessment” at the end of an on-demand Academy course.

  • Databricks Fundamentals

    Databricks Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free intro accreditation covering the Data Intelligence Platform, Delta Lake and Unity Catalog basics, and common use cases. We suggest it as the first badge for anyone new to Databricks: four short videos and a quiz in about an hour. As of October 2026 Databricks also lists the older Databricks Lakehouse Fundamentals badge as a separate credential.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    1 to 2 hours
    Pass mark
    Not stated
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • Lakehouse Architecture Fundamentals

    Databricks Lakehouse Architecture Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free one-hour, concept-level course based on The Data Lakehouse For Dummies: where legacy data architectures fall short, the core technologies behind a lakehouse, and how one platform serves many kinds of workloads on Databricks. Pass the closing quiz with 80% or more to earn the badge.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 1 hour
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • Data Governance Fundamentals

    Databricks Data Governance Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free 45-minute course on data governance with Unity Catalog: how the catalog is organized, data quality, security, compliance, lineage and auditing. Pass the closing quiz with 80% or more to earn the badge.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 1 hour
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • AI Security Fundamentals

    Databricks AI Security Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free one-hour primer on the Databricks AI Security Framework (DASF): the security risks across the AI and machine learning lifecycle and the practices that reduce them on Databricks. Databricks announced it with DASF 2.0 on February 12, 2025, and completing it earns an accreditation badge.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 1 hour
    Pass mark
    Not stated
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • Analytics Fundamentals

    Databricks Analytics Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free one-hour introduction to analytics on Databricks: the lakehouse, SQL-based ETL with Databricks SQL, shared business semantics, AI/BI dashboards and Genie. Pass the closing quiz with 80% or more to earn the badge.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 1 hour
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • Generative AI Fundamentals

    Databricks Generative AI Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free intro accreditation on the GenAI landscape on Databricks. LLM basics, RAG concepts, Mosaic AI overview, governance considerations. 60-minute course + quiz. A good warm-up before the paid GenAI Engineer Associate exam.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 1 hour
    Pass mark
    70%
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • Prompt Engineering Fundamentals

    Databricks Prompt Engineering Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free two-hour course for everyday users of AI assistants: the COIE framework (context, outcome, instruction, example) and techniques such as zero-shot, few-shot and chain-of-thought prompting. Pass the closing quiz with 80% or more to earn the badge.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 2 hours
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • AI Agent Fundamentals

    Databricks AI Agent Fundamentals

    Free 90-minute course on AI agent fundamentals: simple, agentic and multi-agent systems, Agent Bricks, and real-world use cases. Databricks announced it on October 16, 2025, and we see it as the natural follow-up to Generative AI Fundamentals before the Context Engineer Associate exam.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 2 hours
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • Agentic Application Fundamentals

    Databricks Agentic Application Fundamentals Accreditation

    Free one-hour course built around a guided demo of an agentic app made with Databricks Apps, Lakebase and Agent Bricks, including Genie Spaces, Knowledge Assistants and Supervisor Agents. Pass the closing quiz with 80% or more to earn the badge.

    Cost
    Free
    Time
    About 1 hour
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    No expiry stated
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)

Platform accreditations

The cloud-specific Platform Architect badges and the Platform Administrator accreditation. Databricks' pages say each attempt is free for Databricks customers and partners, the quiz has no time limit and is not proctored, and the badge is valid for one year. These are the ones with an expiry, so note the date you pass.

  • Platform Administrator

    Databricks Data + AI Platform Administrator

    Free for Databricks customers and partners: an accreditation for platform admins covering workspace setup, identity and access, networking, cost and usage management, and Unity Catalog administration. We suggest it after the Platform Architect accreditation for whichever cloud you run on.

    Cost
    Free for Databricks customers and partners
    Time
    10 to 20 hours
    Pass mark
    Not stated
    Valid
    One year
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • AWS Platform Architect

    Databricks AWS Platform Architect Accreditation

    Free for Databricks customers and partners: an accreditation on running Databricks on AWS, covering workspace provisioning, IAM, S3 integration, PrivateLink and cost optimization. Valid for one year.

    Cost
    Free for Databricks customers and partners
    Time
    5 to 10 hours
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    One year
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • Azure Platform Architect

    Databricks Azure Platform Architect Accreditation

    Free for Databricks customers and partners: an accreditation on Azure Databricks, covering Azure resource integration, Microsoft Entra ID, ADLS Gen2, Private Link and cost optimization. Valid for one year.

    Cost
    Free for Databricks customers and partners
    Time
    5 to 10 hours
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    One year
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)
  • GCP Platform Architect

    Databricks GCP Platform Architect Accreditation

    Free for Databricks customers and partners: an accreditation on Databricks on Google Cloud, covering workspace setup, IAM, GCS integration, VPC networking and cost optimization. Valid for one year.

    Cost
    Free for Databricks customers and partners
    Time
    5 to 10 hours
    Pass mark
    80%
    Valid
    One year
    Take it on databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab)

Knowledge badges

64single-subject badges, grouped by topic. Each is earned by finishing one Databricks Academy course and passing its quiz with a score of 80% or higher. Most courses are free; where Databricks' catalog lists the course as paid, usually because it includes labs, the row says so, and where we found no listing at all it says Not stated. Names link to Databricks' page for the badge.

64 knowledge badges

Data engineering15

Machine learning9

Generative AI and agents11

Analytics and BI10

Governance and security4

Platform and administration3

Apps and Lakebase11

Migration and integration1

Skill badges, awards and community badges

The rest of the public catalog: the small set of skill badges, the awards Databricks gives by selection, the community credentials Databricks Developer Relations issues for MVPs, user groups, students and universities, and the newer Community Databricks Foundations and Databricks Community Practitioner badges, which come from the Databricks Academy issuer.

Skill badges2

Awards1

Given by Databricks, not earned through a course. The pages state no application route.

  • Yearly recognition from the Databricks MVP Program for people who help the data and AI community by speaking, teaching, writing or running meetups.

    Selected by the Databricks MVP Program; Databricks publishes no earning criteria or application route. Earlier years have their own 2024 and 2025 badges.

Community badges20

Retired

Credentials Databricks no longer issues but still lists, so people who hold them can keep showing them. The pages themselves carry no retirement date; where Databricks has stated one elsewhere, the note says so.

Partner Training badges

Databricks also issues 146 Partner Training badges, by far its largest collection. They sit behind the Partner Academy login, which is open to employees of Databricks system integrator and ISV partners who register with a company email, so we count them rather than list them. If you work for a partner, the official collection (opens Databricks' site in a new tab) shows every one.

Questions people ask about Databricks badges

Are Databricks badges free?
Most are. The 9 Fundamentals accreditations are free courses with a quiz at the end. Of the 64 knowledge badges, 52 come from free Databricks Academy courses with a quiz; 1 has a course Databricks' catalog lists as paid (tagged Paid course in the list), and for 11 we found no course listing in Databricks' catalog, so their rows say Not stated. The platform architect and platform administrator accreditations are free for Databricks customers and partners. The proctored certifications are the paid ones at $200 per attempt.Exam prices, retakes and voucher windows are on what a Databricks certification costs.
Do Databricks badges expire?
It depends on the kind. Certification badges are valid for two years from the day they are awarded, and Databricks says it notifies you before they expire. The platform architect and administrator accreditations are valid for one year. The Fundamentals pages and the knowledge badge pages state no expiry, so we list those as "No expiry stated" rather than guess. An expired credential stays visible in your wallet at credentials.databricks.com with a warning that it has expired.What renewing involves, including the Data Engineer Associate renewal exam, is under renewal on the cost page.
What is the difference between a badge, an accreditation and a certification?
All three arrive as digital badges on credentials.databricks.com, so "badge" is the container and the other two describe what earned it. An accreditation is earned by passing a short, non-proctored assessment at the end of an on-demand Databricks Academy course, such as Databricks Fundamentals. A knowledge badge works the same way for one subject: finish the training and pass its quiz with a score of 80% or higher. A certification is different in kind: a proctored, role-based exam that you book and pay for at $200 per attempt, valid for two years.
How do I add a Databricks badge to LinkedIn?
Open the badge in your wallet at credentials.databricks.com. Databricks hosts its badges on Accredible, where a signed-in credential page normally shows an "Add to LinkedIn Profile" button that fills in LinkedIn's license and certification form for you, and a "Share" button that posts it to your feed. Accredible says that if the buttons are still missing after you sign in, the issuer has turned them off; Databricks does not say whether it does. The profile entry links back to the credential page, where anyone can verify it. Databricks does not mail paper certificates; the digital badge is the proof.
Where do I see the badges I have earned?
In your wallet at credentials.databricks.com. Databricks sends each badge through Accredible to the email you earned it with: your Databricks Academy email for accreditations and knowledge badges, and the email in your Webassessor profile for certification exams. Signing in with a different address shows an empty wallet. Databricks says a badge can take up to 48 hours to be issued; if it is still missing after that, or you need it moved to another email, Databricks' Training Support form is the route.If you are signed in to brickster.ai, you can keep your own expiry dates in view under Account, Credentials. We never read your wallet; you type in the badge and the date.

Sources: Databricks' certification FAQ (opens Databricks' site in a new tab), its credential catalog at credentials.databricks.com (opens Databricks' site in a new tab), and its Training Support (opens Databricks' site in a new tab) form. We used no third-party catalog.

Going for a certification next?

The free badges are a good warm-up, but the proctored exams cost the same whether you pass or not. Our free practice questions cover the main exams, with every code question run on a real Spark engine before publication.

Get Tuesday's version of this

We re-read Databricks' badge catalog every month and note what is new. The Tuesday email carries it alongside what shipped that week. Free, one-click unsubscribe.

Read past issues first